

Rivanna Ridge Professional Building 200 Hansen Road, Suite 2 Charlottesville, VA 22911

News Release

For Immediate Release

November 22, 2024

Contact

Gina Patterson, executive director 434-295-8722 or gina@vsba.org

Dr. JoWanda Rollins-Fells of Caroline County Elected as VSBA President, New Board of Directors Announced



Dr. JoWanda Rollins-Fells
Caroline County Public School

Charlottesville, VA – The Virginia School Boards Association (VSBA) is proud to announce that Dr. JoWanda Rollins-Fells of the Caroline County School Board has been elected as the new VSBA President. Her election marks a moment of excitement and commitment to furthering education across the Commonwealth. Dr. Rollins-Fells was formally named President at the association's annual convention held in Williamsburg, VA, November 20-22, 2024.

With eight years of dedicated service on the Caroline County School Board and a wealth of experience in state-level leadership roles, Dr. Rollins-Fells brings a dynamic vision to VSBA. Her involvement includes serving as the VSBA Representative for the Virginia High School League, VSBA Eastern Region Chair, and VSBA Representative for the Virginia Partnership for Out-of-School Time.

"I am truly honored to serve as the VSBA President, representing school board members who are unwavering champions for Virginia's students," Dr. Rollins-Fells said. "Together, we will advocate for student success, empower educators, and create inclusive, supportive learning environments. I look forward to driving positive change and ensuring that every child in Virginia has the resources and support they need to thrive."

Joining Dr. Rollins-Fells on the newly elected Board of Directors are President-Elect Jennifer Nichols from Washington County, along with Diana Williams of Waynesboro City and Teresa Ellison of Buena Vista City as members-at-large. Immediate Past President Dr. Cardell Patillo of Portsmouth City will continue his service on the board.

President Rollins-Fells has appointed an impressive lineup of leaders for VSBA's key committees. Joseph Kilgore of Hampton City will chair the Finance/Audit Committee, while Chris Johnson of Prince George County takes the helm of the Legislative Positions/Federal Relations Committee. Their leadership will help guide VSBA's priorities and initiatives over the coming year.

New Regional Chairs for 2024-2025 bring fresh perspectives from all corners of the state: Jacob Wright of Alleghany Highlands – Blue Ridge Region, Graham Paige of Albemarle County – Central Region, Veda Frazier of King William County – Eastern Region, Jacinta Greene of Alexandria City – Northeastern Region, Lucy Carson of Prince Edward County – Southern Region, Hal Miles of Petersburg City – Southside Region, Wesley Hicks of Dickenson County – Southwest Region, James Richardson of York County – Tidewater Region, and Megan Gordon of Page County – Valley Region.

With a passionate and dedicated Board of Directors, VSBA is ready to tackle the challenges and seize the opportunities ahead for public education in Virginia.



Rivanna Ridge Professional Building 200 Hansen Road, Suite 2 Charlottesville, VA 22911

2024-2025 VSBA BOARD OF DIRECTORS

PRESIDENT

Dr. JoWanda Rollins-Fells Caroline County

PRESIDENT-ELECT

Jennifer Nichols Washington County

PAST PRESIDENT

Dr. Cardell Patillo Portsmouth City

COMMITTEE CHAIRPERSONS

Finance/Audit Committee Chair Joseph Kilgore Hampton City

Legislative Positions/Federal Relations Committee Chair

Chris Johnson

Prince George County

MEMBERS-AT-LARGE

Diana Williams Teresa Ellison
Waynesboro City Buena Vista City

REGIONAL CHAIRPERSONS

Blue Ridge Jacob Wright Alleghany Highlands

Central
Graham Paige
Albemarle County

Eastern
Veda Frazier
King William County

Northeastern Jacinta Greene Alexandria City

Southern Lucy Carson Prince Edward County

> **Southside** Hal Miles Petersburg City

Ex-Officio Members

Task Force on Collective
Bargaining Chair
Kathleen Beane
Richmond County

Task Force on Students and Schools in Challenging Environments Chair

Douglas Brown Newport News City

--MORE--

Southwest

Wesley Hicks
Dickenson County

TidewaterJames Richardson *York County*

Valley
Megan Gordon
Page County

Task Force on School Infrastructure Chair David Woodard

David Woodard Tazewell County



Rivanna Ridge Professional Building 200 Hansen Road, Suite 2 Charlottesville, VA 22911

About the Virginia School Boards Association

The Virginia School Boards Association, a voluntary, nonpartisan organization of Virginia school boards, promotes excellence in public education through advocacy, training, and services. The Association offers conferences, information, training, and counseling designed to meet the needs of the Commonwealth's educational leaders.

###